Strike One, But We Are In The Game

photoshop-silhouette-1Today I took a walk through the first “not listed, but for sale at the right price” home to come our way since the launch of this blog.

It sounded promising, and I was excited to see it.  Enough bedrooms, enough bathrooms, great location.

Upon inspection, however, I realized that some of my dealbreakers were lurking within.  I stipulated my desire for a “real master bedroom” meaning one well-located bedroom of ample size for a king-sized bed and other typical furnishings, with a connected bathroom suitable for 2 people to brush their teeth at the same moment.  Today’s house did not have such a master suite.  I also stipulated that the 1/2 bath not be of the “behind the laundry room, suitable for the gardener to wash-up” variety.  Today’s house had a 3/4 bath of EXACTLY that variety.   Either of those would have been tough to get over, but perhaps I could have, if the house hadn’t been recently redone in early 21st century apartment-grade Home Depot. But, alas, it had.

Though it was a bit of a letdown, the silver lining is that within one week of launching this website, I’ve confirmed that there is shadow inventory out there to be bought.  With a couple lucky breaks, and your help, the Shadow Buyer family will be in our new home before you know it.

Remember, if you or someone you know has a house that you think we might be interested in, drop me a line at shadowbuyer {at} gmail {dot} com.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Strike One, But We Are In The Game”

  1. Mrs. King Says:

    I enjoy your blog. It is hard to find the right house anywhere?

    Would you consider new construction in South Santa Monica? South of Ocean Park? Not Brentwood or NOMO, but really walkable and kid friendly and tons of amenities.

    • shadowsm Says:

      South Santa Monica is not my first choice, but just as I would go way up Tigertail for the right home (see the post from this week about Mr. Drummond’s house), I would consider going south as well. Please shoot me an email with any details you’d care to share about the home you have for sale. I’ll keep the details to myself, but if it turns out that it’s not a home for me, and you would like me to do so, I’d be willing to feature it on the blog in case another reader is interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

